Pundi

I’ll begin blogging by something I cooked recently. That happens to be pundi, or in other words Mangalorean rice balls. Indian cuisine varies from state to state. My family is from the south, from the state of Karnataka. Mangalore is one of the larger towns in southern Karnataka. My grandparents migrated to Bombay, which is in the West, for work. I was born and brought up in the Bombay, but grew up eating primarily South Indian food. However, I am certainly not partial towards it. I don’t normally make all the traditional foods I grew up eating. I do make them when I crave them, or to finish some of the ingredients in my pantry. This pundi cooking spree was a mix of both. I called my mom and asked her to give me the recipe. I used different ingredients from the ones that she mentioned, but that’s just me, I love experimenting ­čśŤ

Here’s the recipe

1 cup rice flour (normally idli rawa is used, I used Japanese rice powder!)

1 cup water

1 tsp oil

1/2 tsp mustard seeds

2 red chillies, broken in 3 pieces

1-2 tsp urad dal (husked black gram – you’ll find it in the Indian store)

sugar – 1 tsp (optional)

salt to taste

Procedure:

Keep oil to heat in a thick bottomed pan on medium heat.

Add mustard seeds and let them splutter, add the urad dal and red chillies.

Add water. When it boils turn off the stove and add the sugar, salt and rice flour. Mix it and cover the pan for 5 mins.

After 5 mins, open the pan and take the pan off of the stove. Make sure the dough inside is not too hot. Mix it again and form golf sized balls.

Now steam these golf sized balls in a steamer for 15-20 mins.

The pundi can be eaten with sambhar or any type of chutney. We normally had it for breakfast or as a snack in the evenings. I personally like to eat it with coconut and cilantro chutney or pudi chutney (powdered chutney). The recipes for those will be coming up next!

1 Comment

  1. CriSha said,

    April 7, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    We make these specially for Ganesh Chathruthi…. I love them with coconut chutney…


Leave a Reply

