Gajar subzi

I grew up eating a staple diet of rice and dal, at least on weekdays. On the side, we normally had at least one vegetable and sometimes a non-vegetarian dish. I haven’t really stuck to the same routine since I moved to the U.S. For one, I ate in the cafeteria for almost 9 months (probably the most fattening months of my life here)! Secondly, since a lot of people have asserted that rice is not the most ideal weight loss food, I have been trying to eat less of it (without much success). My fondness for rice makes me more South Indian than I appear to be!

This afternoon I had my friend S over for a meal. It was good to see her after long and to spend time together just talking and praying and sharing our burdens! She was my first friend in Denton and I will be forever grateful to God for placing her and others in my life. God always has been great in His timing and I’m always amazed at His providence. Meeting S today encouraged me and also helped me vocalize my anticipation about the future and my struggles in the present. We had a simple meal of rice, kadhi and gajar (carrot) subzi with khaman as appetizer. I forgot to give her the pedas I made as dessert, but there is always a next time! I haven’t mastered my kadhi and khaman recipes yet, when I do, I will post them. But I have made my gajar subzi a few times now and my housemates L&P have always liked it. That makes me confident enough to want to post it. Here it is!

Ingredients:

Carrot – 2-4 nos., grated

Oil – 1 tsp

Mustard seeds – 1 tsp

Cumin seeds – 1/2 tsp

Chilli powder – to taste

Salt – to taste

Water – 1/4 cup or as required

Procedure

Heat oil in a non stick pan with high edges at medium heat.

Add mustard seeds and let them splutter.

Add cumin seeds and let them brown slightly. Be careful not to let them burn.

Add in the grated carrots and mix well.

Add in 1/4 cup water. Depending on how many carrots you use make sure that there isn’t too much water in the pan either.

Next add chilli powder and salt and close the lid of the pan.

Let the carrots cook for about 2-4 mins. Keep checking to make sure the water hasn’t completely evaporated. In case it does, sprinkle some more water. Make sure the carrots do not stick to the bottom of the pan.You will know that they are cooked when they are tender, but not mushy.

By the time the carrots have cooked, the water would have evaporated. If it hasn’t turn the stove to medium-high and let the water evaporate as you keep stirring the carrots.

Serve hot!

2 Comments

  1. Crisha said,

    May 11, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    Actually if your staple food is rice and u ate it more than 20 yrs u shouldnt change much.. as your body metabolism is used to that… drastic changes will hurt ur body system… i know its a right comment at a wrong place.

    • Ash said,

      May 11, 2011 at 4:23 pm

      Well I did eat it, but it looks like right now it’s not good for me. It’s not low GI, so until I lose weight and my thyroid stops being sluggish I cannot eat it!


Leave a comment