Ragi(millet flour) dosa

I must be on a roll to be posting on two consecutive days, right?  🙂 I never know when that will end though, so here is another recipe I made for breakfast. I love dosa, but the regular dosas contain rice. Rice is something I am trying to avoid for the next few months. Because it’s so tempting to eat rice I have stopped buying it altogether!

I have adapted this recipe from my mom’s recipe. She uses whole millet or ragi, I was unable to find it in the Indian store and so I used ragi flour. It still turned out pretty good. And I say that not to comfort myself, but because the husband who is not particularly fond of dosa said he actually liked it (after I asked him if he liked it :P) The procedure is similar to rava dosa. I’ve heard that ragi flour doesn’t keep for very long, so it’s best not to buy it in huge quantities. Hubby also likes ragi porridge for breakfast in the morning, although I, personally, am not a huge fan. So I think this dosa is quite the compromise for both parties involved 😀

Ingredients:

Urad dal – 1/2 cup

Ginger – 1 inch piece

Chilli peppers – to taste (I used 2 serrano peppers)

Cilantro – 5-6 sprigs

Salt – to taste

Ragi flour – 1 cup

Water – as much as required

Oil or cooking spray – to apply on the skillet

Procedure:

Wash and soak the urad dal for at least 2 hours. I let it soak for about 6-7 hours.

After soaking it, grind it to a fine paste with the ginger and chilli pepper and let it rest untouched in a warm place for about 8 hours. If you are making this for breakfast it works well if you grind the dal at night and let it sit overnight in a warm place. Since the weather here in the U.S. is very different from India, I have found it difficult to ferment foodstuff. It’s helpful to leave the batter inside the oven. I’ve heard of some people who keep it in an oven that is turned to the ‘warm’ setting and then turned off before going to bed. I have personally never tried it (partly because I’m afraid I will forget to turn it off!), but even an oven that is turned off works just fine for me. It’s warmer in there than on the kitchen counter.

After 8 hours mix in the ragi flour, cilantro and salt. Mix in enough water to have a dropping consistency.

Heat the skillet to medium-high. Lightly apply oil to the skillet.

Spread the batter like a dosa or pancake. Once it has browned a little turn it over and let it cook for a minute or two. Take it off the skillet and serve hot with chutney of your choice. It goes well with both cilantro chutney or podi chutney. Hubby had it with garlic chutney. To each his/her own!

1 Comment

  1. Crisha said,

    May 11, 2011 at 4:09 pm

    One thing for sure i am learning the names of the flours in english.. You blog is nice n when i go through the recipe it seems simple n i have the courage to make it…:D.. i will post once i make them…


Leave a Reply

