Whole wheat pancakes

I got a little tired with monotonous breakfasts, so I decided to try pancakes today. I decided not to use all purpose flour and that obviously made a huge difference! I think I was happy with the outcome though. I decided to use some of the strawberries that I bought on sale. Hubby wasn’t too enthralled about that so I made plain ones for him. I’m definitely going to play around with this recipe until I’m totally pleased with the end result. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

Whole wheat flour (atta) 1.5 cups

Baking powder – 3.5 tsps

Salt – 1 tsp (I used 3/4 tsp for a low sodium alternative)

Sugar – 1 tbsp (next time I might try brown sugar)

Milk – 1 1/4 cups milk

Egg – 1 large

Butter – 3 tbsps, melted

Water – 1/2 – 3/4 cup (It will depend on how thick your batter is)

Method:

In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar. Make a well in the center and pour in the milk, egg and melted butter; mix until smooth.

The batter will be thick. Add enough water to bring it to pancake batter consistency.

Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium high heat.

Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle, using approximately 1/4 cup for each pancake. If you want to add toppings like strawberries or blueberries do it before you flip it. Brown on both sides and serve hot with butter or syrup.  We had ours with pure maple syrup and it was yum! 🙂

I wanted to include a pic of the plain pancake, so here is a pic (it’s on the far left, it looked so plain compared to my colorful ones!) On a side note, I also need to spruce up my pictures. I’m using my point and shoot for all the pictures here. I should probably take lessons from hubby to take better pics. Also, I don’t have too many props to make them look nice 😛 and more often than not, it takes a lot of effort to take these pics because the husband is very keen on eating first! By the time we finish eating, there’s nothing left to take pics of 🙂

Leave a Reply

